Electronic conveyancing

Electronic conveyancing is now the standard settlement process in Western Australia, replacing the time-consuming paper-based settlement process that’s been in use for more than a century.

As of 1 December 2018, all new eligible, stand-alone transfers, caveats and withdrawal of caveats and any lodgement case consisting of eligible discharges, transfers, mortgages, caveats and withdrawal of caveats must be lodged electronically.

In-flight transactions are not affected, meaning contracts dated prior to 1 December 2018 can still be lodged over the counter at Landgate. Contracts dated on or after 1 December 2018 which result in an eligible transaction must be lodged electronically. A standalone caveat or withdrawal of caveat where executed on or after 1 December 2018 and that is eligible must be lodged electronically.

Paper lodgement will not be accepted for the above scenarios unless the instrument(s) cannot be lodged using an Electronic Lodgement Network and a completed Request to accept paper lodgement form is attached. Reasons are to be clearly set out in the Request to accept paper lodgement form.

Find out more about document eligibility.

Request to accept paper lodgement

As of 1 December 2018 the Request to accept paper lodgement form must be used with any lodgement case in paper consisting of:

  • Discharge of Mortgage/Mortgage
  • Transfer
  • Caveat/Withdrawal of Caveat

The form must be completed by the party requesting paper lodgement, and that party must also ensure that they hold evidence that supports their request. The Registrar will monitor the use of the request form and evidence may be called upon at any time to ensure compliance with the Regulations.

The form does not need to be used in a lodgement case that includes an additional document(s) not listed above e.g. transmission, survivorship, application.

Further information can be found in the FAQs.

This page was last updated on: 11 Sep 2020